## Lynne Ridsdale Chief Executive

Our Ref	JG
Your Ref	C/JG
Date	14 May 2024
Contact	Julie Gallagher
Direct Line	0161 253 6640
E-mail	Julie.Gallagher@bury.gov.uk
Web Site	www.bury.gov.uk

## TO: All Members of Council

**Councillors** : A Arif, S Arif, N Bayley, R Bernstein, D Berry, C Birchmore, C Boles, A Booth, R Brown, C Cummins, D Duncalfe, U Farooq, E FitzGerald, N Frith, I Gartside, R Gold, D Green, J Grimshaw, S Haroon, J Harris, M Hayes, J Hook, K Hussain, B Ibrahim, J Lancaster, G Marsden, L McBriar, G McGill, C Morris, E Moss, E O'Brien, T Pilkington, A Quinn, D Quinn, T Rafiq, M Rahimov, I Rizvi, M Rubinstein, J Rydeheard, L Ryder, K Simpson, L Smith, M Smith, J Southworth, G Staples-Jones, T Tariq, S Thorpe, D Vernon, S Walmsley, M Walsh and Y Wright

## Dear Member/Colleague

### Council

You are invited to attend a meeting of Council which will be held as follows:-

Date:	Wednesday, 22 May 2024
Place:	Council Chamber, Bury Town Hall
Time:	2.00 pm
Briefing Facilities:	If Members require briefing on any particular item on the Agenda, the appropriate Director/Senior Officer originating the related report should be contacted.
Notes:	

### AGENDA

The Agenda for the meeting is attached.

The Agenda and Reports are available on the Council's Intranet for Councillors and Officers and also on the Council's Website at <a href="http://www.bury.gov.uk">www.bury.gov.uk</a>

Yours sincerely

Ordelale

**Chief Executive** 

(Note: Members are reminded that under Section 106 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, if a Member of a Local Authority has not paid Council Tax for at least two months and, even if an arrangement has been entered into to pay arrears, then at any meeting where consideration is given to matters relating to, or which might affect the calculation of Council Tax, that Member must declare the fact that he/she is in arrears and must not vote on the matter).

## AGENDA

# 1 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL PART 1

- 1. To elect the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/2025
- 2. To elect a Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/2025

# 2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

### 3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members of the Council are requested to declare any interests which they have in any items or issues before the Council for determination.

#### 4 **MINUTES** (Pages 5 - 10)

Minutes attached.

### 5 ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS MAY 2024

To receive the following report from the Chief Executive on the outcome of the Election of Councillors held on 2 May 2024 for each of the seventeen wards of the Metropolitan Borough:-

Besses	Miriam Rahimov	Labour
Bury East	Gavin McGill	Labour
Bury West	Dene Vernon	Conservative
Elton	Martin Hayes	Labour
Holyrood	lmran Rizvi	Labour
Moorside	Ciaron Boles	Labour
North Manor	John Southworth	Labour
Pilkington Park	Elizabeth FitzGerald	Labour
Radcliffe East	Ken Simpson	Radcliffe First
Radcliffe North & Ainsworth	Andrea Booth	Radcliffe First
Radcliffe West	Des Duncalfe	Radcliffe First
Ramsbottom	Tom Pilkington	Labour
Redvales	Tamoor Tariq	Labour
Sedgley	Alan Quinn	Labour
St Marys	Debra Green	Labour
Tottington	Luis McBriar	Conservative
Unsworth	Jodie Hook	Labour

# 6 **ANNUAL CONSTITUTION UPDATE REPORT** (Pages 11 - 112)

Report attached.

## 7 ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS 2024/25

Reports and appendices attached.

# a **APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL**

b ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS REPORT (Pages 113 - 150)

## 8 **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY ANNUAL REPORT 2023/24** (Pages 151 - 174)

Report attached.

## 9 **STATE OF THE BOROUGH DEBATE** (Pages 175 - 176)

Report attached.

The Leader will make statement.

The Group Leaders will be invited to reply.

## 10 **\*\*\*\* FOR MEMBERS INFORMATION ONLY \*\*\*\* DETAILS OF URGENT COUNCIL** DECISION FORM (Pages 177 - 180)

# 11 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL PART 2

You are also summoned to attend Part 2 of the **Annual Meeting of the Council** which will be held on **the above date at 4.00 pm in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Bury**.

See separate agenda.